1 800 222 6872

Tres Siglos - Three Cello Concertos / Carlos Miguel Prieto

You may experience problems playing the sound clips on this page. We are aware of this problem and are working on it.
> Fantasia Concertante - Fantasia Concertante
> Cello Concerto - I. Tranquillo e molto espressvo - Allegro molto
> Cello Concerto - II. Lento, ma poco rubato
> Cello Concerto - III. Allegro con spirito
> Cello Concerto - I. Allegro molto - Andante
> Cello Concerto - II. Vivo

Album Summary

>Heras, Joaquin Gutierrez : Fantasia Concertante, for cello & orchestra
>Zyman, Samuel : Concierto, for cello & orchestra
>Castro, Ricardo : Concierto, for cello & orchestra
Performer Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

"Three impressive cello concertos by Mexican composers, here in very fine performances and vivid sonics, though recorded in different venues and at different times by different orchestras. The superb Carlos Prieto is soloist in all three. At 32 minutes, Samuel Zyman's three-movement 1990 Cello Concerto is the most substantial and ambitiousJoaquin Gutierrez Heras, though born (in 1927) nearly three decades before Zyman, writes in a somewhat more modern, chromatic idiom, though by no means harsh or fragmentedFinally, there's the 1895 Cello Concerto of Ricardo Castro (1864-1907), a melodious, well-made, and agreeable work by what the liner notes describe as "probably the most important Mexican composer of the 19th Century." It's the equal of anything I know of by any contemporaneous American." - American Record Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Heras, Joaquin Gutierrez : Fantasía Concertante, for cello & orchestra
  • Performer: Carlos Prieto (Cello)
  • Conductor: Carlos Prieto
  • Ensemble: Xalapa Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Teatro del Estado, Jalapa, Veracruz (06/12/2006-06/13/2006)
  • Running Time: 9 min. 50 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1927

>Zyman, Samuel : Concierto, for cello & orchestra
  • Performer: Carlos Prieto (Cello)
  • Conductor: Enrique Diemecke
  • Running Time: 31 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1956

>Castro, Ricardo : Concierto, for cello & orchestra
  • Performer: Carlos Prieto (Cello)
  • Conductor: Jorge Velazco
  • Ensemble: Berlin Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 24 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1864-1907