1 800 222 6872

Carl Rütti: Requiem / David Hill, et al

Album Summary

>Rütti, Carl : Requiem, for soprano, baritone, double chorus, strings, harp & organ
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Carl Rutti's choral music is "sensuous and exuberant by turns, combining dazzling rhythms and soaring melodies with distinctively lush harmonies" (Choir & Organ magazine). Of his 'Requiem', immense in scale yet often intimate in tone, the composer writes that "no words are strong enough to express the feelings of the bereaved, nor sufficient to explain what will await us after death. Music may be the most appropriate language". Scored for soprano, baritone, double choir, strings, harp and organ, Rutti's 'Requiem' ultimately affirms life's precious fragility.

”The music of Swiss composer Carl Rutti is not particularly well known in America. Though many CD’s devoted to his music have been released in Europe on small labels, this internationally distributed Naxos release should help t bring his work to wider and extremely well-deserved attention. I cannot say enough in praise of his work, which is one of the finest Requiem settings of our time. I am absolutely convinced it will join the great ones from the past. It is a disc to which I will return frequently, and is Want List material, without a doubt.”-Fanfare


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rütti, Carl : Requiem, for soprano, baritone, double chorus, strings, harp & organ
  • Performers: Edward Price (Baritone); Olivia Robinson (Soprano); Jane Watts (Organ)
  • Conductor: David Hill
  • Ensemble: Southern Sinfonia
  • Notes: St John's Church, Smith Square, London (01/31/2009-02/01/2009)
  • Running Time: 9 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 2007