1 800 222 6872

Uuno Klami: Northern Lights Cheremissian

> Aurora borealis, Op. 38 - Aurora borealis, Op. 38
> Tsheremissilainen fantasia (Cheremis Fantasia), Op. 19 - Part I
> Tsheremissilainen fantasia (Cheremis Fantasia), Op. 19 - Part II
> Kalevala Suite, Op. 23 - I. The Creation of the Earth: Agitato e misterioso
> Kalevala Suite, Op. 23 - II. The Spout of Spring: Andante, molto tranquillo
> Kalevala Suite, Op. 23 - III. Terhenniemi: Allegro leggiero e scherzando
> Kalevala Suite, Op. 23 - IV. Cradle Song for Lemminkainen: Andante mosso
> Kalevala Suite, Op. 23 - V. The Forging of the Sampo: Allegro moderato

Album Summary

>Klami, Uuno : Northern Lights, fantasy for orchestra, Op. 38
>Klami, Uuno : Fantaisie Tscheremisse for cello & orchestra, Op 19
>Klami, Uuno : Kalevala Suite, for orchestra, Op. 23
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"Uuno Klami was the Finnish Ravel, his music characterized by superb craftsmanship, glittering orchestration, and melodies that sound like you might have heard them before but can't remember where Northern Lightsis an 18-minute symphonic poem that more than lives up to its title: alternately atmospheric and brilliant, it rises to an imposing climax that reveals Klami's gifts as an orchestrator to excellent effect this new release is outstanding in every way. The Helsinki Philharmonic knows this music as well as anyoneJohn Storgards leads vibrant interpretations, with Samuli Peltonen an impressive cello soloist. The sonics are superbly lifelike, with plenty of detail and a wide dynamic range. Highly recommended." - Classics Today (10/10)

Gramophone Magazine
Storgårds and the Helsinki Philharmonic turn in superb performances...Ondine's sound is of demonstration class...Thoroughly recommended.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Helsinki, Finlandia Hall (2009-01-30&2009-02-02&2009-).


A lesser-known Finnish master
It’s unfortunate how little Finnish orchestral music outside of Sibelius finds its way into American concert halls, but Finnish music has done a lot better on recordings thanks, for the most part, to the Ondine label. It’s safe to say that the music of Uuno Klami (1900-1961) is really not known outside of Finland but this recording of three of his fine orchestral works makes a good introduction composer to a top-notch composer. If you are expecting the stark power and drama of Sibelius, Klami may not be your man. Truth be told there is more of the color of Ravel and pungency of Stravinsky in the works heard on this recording. The tone poem Northern Lights owes much to Ravel and impresses with its shifts of orchestral colors. A more modern sound—Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring was on Klami’s mind – is heard in the Cheremissian Fantasy, a piece for cello and orchestra. This two movement work shifts from a somberly melodic opening movement to a fiery second movement laced with just a bit of savagery. Klami’s best-known work, Kalevala Suite, rounds out the program and he displays his superb gifts as an orchestrator and as a master of hyper-Romantic nature music. The performances by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by John Stogårds are marvelously idiomatic, this music is in their blood and it shows. Cellist Samuli Peltonen is a stand-out in the Cheremissian Fantasy, singing with beautiful full tone in the first movement and burning down the house in the second. The recording has wonderfully natural sound – typical of most Ondine orchestral recordings – and solid liner notes. Take note, Ondine also has recordings of Klami’s symphonies and another disc of tone poems.
Submitted on 04/05/10 by Craig Zeichner 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Klami, Uuno : Northern Lights, fantasy for orchestra, Op. 38
  • Conductor: John Storgårds
  • Notes: Helsinki, Finlandia Hall (01/30/2009/02/02/2009)
  • Running Time: 19 min. 1 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1946

>Klami, Uuno : Fantaisie Tschérémisse for cello & orchestra, Op 19
  • Conductor: John Storgårds
  • Running Time: 7 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Modern

>Klami, Uuno : Kalevala Suite, for orchestra, Op. 23
  • Conductor: John Storgårds
  • Notes: Helsinki, Finlandia Hall (01/30/2009/02/02/2009)
  • Running Time: 32 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1943