1 800 222 6872

Dargomizhsky: Russalka

Audio Samples

  1. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Overture $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act I: Aria: Ach, so seid ihr nun, alle jungen Madchen (Mullers) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act I: Ach mein Herz du, ach mein Herz du (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act I: Duet: Mich qualen dustree Gedanken, wie wird so bang (Furst, Natascha)
  5. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act I: Finale: Ach, ihr Felder, meine Felder, um euch schone (Muller, Natascha, Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: In dem grossen hellen Zimmer, bei dem Fest in (Furstin, Furst, Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: Aria: Ihr, meiner Kindheit Gefahrtinnen, lebt wohl (Furstin, Furst, Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: Recitative: So kommt herein! Ja, wollen wir nicht endlich (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: Slawischer Tanz $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: Zigeunertanz $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act II: Finale: Warum seid, schone Madchen (Natascha, Furstin, Furst, Olga, Brautwerber, Chorus)
  12. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act III: Aria: Horch, ist das nicht sein Horn? Nein, nein er (Furstin) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act III: Recitative: Ach immer weint sie nur, die Arne tut mir leid (Olga, Furstin, Jager) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act III: Die Freiheit geneissend, verlassend den Grund (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act III: Cavatina: Warum nur zeiht es immer wieder mich (Furstin) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act III: Duet: Was ist geschehen? Plotzlich, verwelkt das Grun (Chorus, Furst, Muller)
  17. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act IV: Tanze der Wassernixen $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act IV: Lasst sein das Spinnen, Schwestem, es wird (Natascha)
  19. Dargomyzhsky — Rusalka: Act IV: Finale: Warum nur zieht es immer wieder mich mit (Furst, Furstin, Muller, Olga, Natascha, Tochter, Chorus)

Album Summary

>Dargomizhsky, Alexander : Rusalka, opera
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Text by the composer, after Alexander Pushkin

Evelina Dobraceva (soprano), Arutjun Kotchinian (bass), Vsevolod Grivnov (tenor), Marina Prudenskaya (mezzo-soprano), Elena Bryleva (soprano), Andrey Telegin (bass) & Martha Jurowski (soprano)WDR Rundfunkchor Koln & WDR Rundfunkorchester Koln, Michail Jurowski

Almost forgotten today, Alexander Dargomizhsky was a major figure in the early history of Russian music. The opera Rusalka was where Dargomizhsky discovered his own tonal language. The text is expanded from Alexander Pushkin's unfinished verse drama into a passionate love story of frivolity, jealousy and revenge. Dargomizhsky was the first composer to set a literary drama to music by using the written text. He goes against the conventional divisions into arias, duets and ensembles. Instead he looked to explore the emotion of the original words. "I want the sound to express the word directly. I want the truth"

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: 04/2008.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Dargomizhsky, Alexander : Rusalka, opera
  • Performer: Martha Jurowski (Voice)
  • Conductor: Michail Jurowski
  • Running Time: 9 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1856