1 800 222 6872

For You

Album Summary

>Berkeley, Michael : For You, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

For You is a new opera that brings together the music of composer and BBC Radio 3 presenter Michael Berkeley and Booker-prize winning author Ian McEwan. This gripping tale of love, lust and obsession centers on the composer and prodigious womanizer Charles Frieth (Alan Opie), and the tragic consequences that his selfish actions cause him and those around. Although essentially dark, there are moments of irony, wit, and humour throughout the opera. Soaring vocal lines, intricate ensemble pieces, and imaginative instrumental writing make this an electrifying work. Masterly performed by Music Theatre Wales, directed by Michael Rafferty. The Opera has had great success from its initial performances in Wales and the Royal Opera House provoking great reviews.

"For You is a dark opera worth waiting for." -The Evening Standard

"...the overall effect is powerful...It is well recorded, and the singers play their parts with passion"-American Record Guide

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Linbury Studio Theatre (2008-10-28&2008-10-30&2008-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Berkeley, Michael : For You, opera
  • Performers: Allison Cook; Christopher Lemmings (Tenor); Rachel Nicholas; Alan Opie; Helen Williams (Soprano); Jeremy Williams (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Michael Rafferty
  • Notes: Linbury Studio Theatre (2008-10-28&2008-10-30&2008-)
  • Running Time: 9 min. 58 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 2008