Duke Ellington/Frank Sinatra: Francis A. & Edward K.

Track List

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Frank Sinatra (vocals); Duke Ellington (piano); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet); Russell Procope, Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); Rev. Cootie Williams, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Lawrence Brown (trombone); Sam Woodyard (drums, percussion).

Includes liner notes by Stan Cornyn.

In the 1960's Sinatra took full advantage of the artistic freedom afforded him by having his own record company. The artistically independent singer basically proceeded to do whatever the hell he wanted, recording an album with Brazilian composer Antonio Carlos Jobim one minute, laying down versions of contemporary pop tunes the next. It was a serendipitous muse that led him to an alliance with the legendary Duke Ellington on this recording.

Ellington's trademark five-man sax section, featuring the inimitable Johnny Hodges, adds an extra punch to the cool, inventive arrangements. Sinatra's voice sounds perfectly at home against the erudite, jazzy backing of Ellington's orchestrations. Everything from Sondheim show tunes and Lerner-Loewe movie songs to Ellington's own "I Like The Sunrise" is translated into the epitome of musical cool by this confluence of talents.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review