1 800 222 6872

Cipher: No Ordinary Man

Track List

>Ldger, The
>Waitng, The
>Far Cry, A
>White Cloud, Blue Sky
>Desert Song
>No Ordinary Man

Album Notes

Cipher: Theo Travis (alto flute, soprano saxophone, piano, keyboards, samples); Dave Sturt (fretless bass, programming, samples, loops).

Additional personnel includes: Rabbi Gaddy Zerbib (vocals); Steven Wilson (guitar); Richard Barbieri (keyboards).

Engineers: Steven Wilson, Dave Sturt, Dill Katz.

Recorded between September 1995 and September 1998.

Personnel: Theo Travis (alto flute, soprano saxophone, piano, keyboards, sampler); Dave Sturt (fretless bass, programming, loops, sampler).

Audio Mixer: Steven Wilson.

Recording information: Derby (09/1995-09/1998); London (09/1995-09/1998).

Arrangers: Dave Sturt; Theo Travis.

Cipher is Theo Travis (soprano sax, alto flute, piano) and Dave Sturt (fretless bass, loop programming). NO ORDINARY MAN, their second album, echoes Brian Eno's "AMBIENT 4: ON LAND" with its gentle ambient soundscapes and a slightly melancholic jazz feel. Sampling through various moods that evoke ideas of comtemplation or meditation, the duo are joined at various times by Richard Barbieri and Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree. Mostly wordless atmostpheres throughout, with the notable exception of "Desert Song", a noirish phantasm featuring the gorgeous vocals of Rabbi Gaddi Zerbib. Travis expertly produces beguiling textures on his wind instruments, and Sturt provides subtle and moving foundations beneath. Best for quiet times, NO ORDINARY MAN provides an excellent entry point for this project, especially for people who come to Theo Travis via his album THREAD with Robert Fripp.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review