1 800 222 6872

John Luther Adams: Four Thousand Holes

Album Summary

>Adams, John Luther : Four Thousand Holes, for bells, vibraphone, piano & electronics
>Adams, John Luther : ...and bells remembered..., for ensemble
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Four Thousand Holes" is an evocative, beautiful, virtuosic work for piano, percussion, and an electronic "aura" of processed instrumental sounds, in which shimmering cascades of lush harmonies and rich polyrhythmic textures are built from layers of simple elements. The work was commissioned by renowned pianist Stephen Drury, whose repertoire extends from Bach, Schubert, and Liszt to Ives, Cage, and Carter. The disc also features Adams' work "...and bells remembered," a lovely, quiet, pensive percussion quintet scored for bell-like instruments: chimes, vibraphone, orchestral bells, and crotales.

"His music is haunting and quite unforgettable." - MusicWeb International

"Adams' major works have the appearance of being beyond style; they transcend the squabbles of contemporary classical music." -The New Yorker

"His music evokes, and in some cases adapts, the complex interplays of light, sound, space, and motion found in nature, to mesmerizing effect."- New York Times

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory of Music, Boston,.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Adams, John Luther : Four Thousand Holes, for bells, vibraphone, piano & electronics
  • Performers: John Adams (Electronics); Scott Deal (Vibraphone); Stephen Drury (Piano)
  • Running Time: 32 min. 51 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary

>Adams, John Luther : ...and bells remembered..., for ensemble
  • Performers: Jeffrey Means (Chimes); Bill Holden (Chimes); Joseph Becker (Vibraphone)
  • Conductor: Stephen Drury
  • Ensemble: Callithumpian Consort
  • Running Time: 10 min. 6 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary