1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovksy: Symphony No. 6 / Barenboim

Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Variations for Orchestra, Op. 31
>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

In 1999, Daniel Barenboim founded the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra with the late literary critic, Edward Said. On this first of many projects on Decca Classics to partner Barenboim with the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra are two blockbusters: Tchaikovsky's Pathétique symphony and Schoenberg's Variations for Orchestra . The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra performs this challenging repertoire to high international standards.

The Independent opened its rave review of a Barenboim- West-Eastern Divan Orchestra London evening by saying, "Simply sensational! The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra scored a bull's-eye".

"In Schoenberg's Variations for Orchestra, Barenboim encourages his young players to draw out every romantic gesture hidden within the score." -The Times***

"a disc that readily attests to [Barenboim's] strengths as a conductor who can inspire orchestras to interpretative heights...Barenboim's art [in the Schoenberg] is to show how essentially musical it is, triggering traditional emotions of excitement, wistfulness and, dare one say, romantic yearning... [He] also has a firm grip on the dramatic shape of Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony." -The Telegraph*****

"This splendid recording of Barenboim's West-Eastern Divan Orchestra...displays their consummate harmonious communality in their interpretations of these two pieces...The WEDO expertly embody both the exuberance of the penultimate movement of Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 (the "Pathetique") and the melancholy beauty of its framing outer sections." -The Independent****

"The Schoenberg, placed first, puts everyone through their paces, and the results are admirably focused and clear textured; indeed, the recording yields up an unusual amount of detail as the polyphony is picked out with almost microphonic precision. It's a highly exciting performance, treating the work as a bravura concerto for orchestra...Lyricism could hardly be in short supply in the Tchaikovsky" -BBC Music

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Salzburg, Groáes Festspielhaus (08/13/2007).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Variations for Orchestra, Op. 31
  • Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
  • Running Time: 19 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1926-1928
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
  • Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
  • Running Time: 47 min. 28 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893
  • Studio/Live: Live