Various Artists: Tower of Song: The Songs of Leonard Cohen

Track List

>Everybody Knows - Don Henley
>Coming Back to You - Trisha Yearwood
>Sisters of Mercy - Sting/The Chieftains
>Hallelujah - Bono
>Famous Blue Raincoat - Tori Amos
>Ain't No Cure for Love - Aaron Neville
>I'm Your Man - Elton John
>Bird on a Wire - Willie Nelson
>Suzanne - Peter Gabriel
>Light as the Breeze - Billy Joel
>If It Be Your Will - Jann Arden
>Story of Isaac - Suzanne Vega
>Coming Back to You - Martin Gore

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Out of print in the U.S.! Excellent collection of songs penned by Leonard Cohen and reinterpreted by some of the finest musicians, past and present, creating a timeless batch of great songs and performances. The cast of great artists include Don Henley, Elton John, Bono, Willie Nelson, Peter Gabriel, Tori Amos, Sting & The Chieftains, Martin L. Gore and many others. 13 tracks featuring favorites like 'Famous Blue Raincoat', 'Suzanne', 'I'm Your Main' and more. Universal..

Album Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly (9/29/95, p.62) - "Cohen's voice is so brooding and atonal that it wouldn't take great interpretive skill to make his melodies come alive. Yet it's surprising how vital his spooky, peephole poetry can be in the hands of...[the] performers on this tribute disc..." - Rating: B+

Album Notes

Includes liner notes by Tom Robbins.

Personnel: Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Suzanne Vega (vocals, acoustic guitar); Tori Amos (vocals, piano); Peter Gabriel (vocals, keyboards); Billy Joel (vocals); Dean Parks (guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin); Dann Huff, Dominic Miller, Grady Martin, Jimmy Ripp, Jody Payne, Steuart Smith, Waddy Wachtel (guitar); Mac McAnally, Fred Tackett, Billy Joe Walker (acoustic guitar); Dennis Herring, Ron Sexsmith (electric guitar); Mark O'Connor (violin); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Jim Hoke, Jim Horn, Lee Thornburg, Vince Denham, Charles Rose, Lon Price, Bill Churchville (horns); Jim Cox (piano, electric piano, organ); Matt Rollings (piano); Benmont Tench, Steve Nathan , Bobbie Nelson (organ); Scott Plunkett, Larry Klein, Mitchell Froom, Steve Lindsey (keyboards); Jerry Marotta (drums, percussion); Curt Bisquera, Jim Keltner, Matt Chamberlain, Scott Crago, Eddie Bayers, Paul English, Paul Leim (drums); Arno Lucas (tambourine); Lenny Castro (percussion); Simon Gogerly (programming); Chris Rodriguez, Donna McElroy, Carmen Twilley, Louise McCormick, Jackie Gouché, Julia Waters, Lori Perry, Alex Brown, Maxine Willard Waters, Sally Dworsky, Trisha Yearwood, Kim Fleming, Bob Bailey, Jean McClain, Yvonne Hodges (background vocals).

Audio Mixers: Ed Cherney ; Eric Ivan Rosse; Hugh Padgham; Tchad Blake; Bill Schnee.

Audio Remixer: Howie B.

Liner Note Author: Tom Robbins.

Recording information: A & M Studios, Hollywood, CA; Javelina Studios; Secret Sound, Nashville, TN; Village Recorder, Santa Monica, CA.

Photographer: Dennis Keeley.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review