1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5; Shostakovich: Festive Overture / Sokhiev

> Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 - I. Andante - Allegro con anima
> Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 - II. Andante cantabile con alcuna licenza
> Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 - III. Valse: Allegro moderato
> Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 - IV. Finale: Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace
> Festive Overture, Op. 96 - Festive Overture, Op. 96

Album Summary

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 5 in E minor, Op. 64
>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Festive Overture, Op. 96
Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This new release from Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse & Tugan Sokhiev for Naïve includes one of the monuments of the symphonic genre. "Perpetual anguish at life, awareness of the weakness of the human being when confronted with the verdict of Fate, attempts to find palliatives for this: taking these as his ingredients, Tchaikovsky made these symphonies genuine dramatizations of his inner world."

Gramophone Magazine
How refreshing in a work of such familiarity to find oneself unable to take a single bar for granted. Don't get me wrong, this isn't the kind of performance which draws attention to itself, which somehow courts individuality, but rather one which re-evaluates how phrasing relates to sound in pursuit of the greatest spontaneity.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: La Halle Aux Grains, Toulouse, France (07/2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 5 in E minor, Op. 64
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Ensemble: Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse
  • Running Time: 45 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1888

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Festive Overture, Op. 96
  • Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev
  • Notes: Composition written: 1954.
  • Running Time: 5 min. 48 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1954