1 800 222 6872

Korngold: Die stumme Serenade / Warah Wegener, Leone, Reich, Rodde et al.

Album Summary

>Korngold, Erich Wolfgang : Die stumme Serenade (The Silent Serenade), musical comedy, Op. 36
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Korngold's last stage work set in Naples around 1820 may have been a bit silly, but the music is extraordinarily appealing and attractive. Stylistically, Die stumme Serenade is a peculiar mix of opera, operetta, revue and some of its catchy melodies would have done well during the 1920s in a Berlin cabaret show. This could be why it was a total flop in 1954: it was regarded as too old-fashioned and not in step with the musical stage works of those times.

BBC Music Magazine
This is a wonderfully silly operetta: cross Lehar with Gilbert and Sullivan and the Marx Brothers... but it remains heartwarming and inspired nonetheless... Sarah Wegener is a pert, soulful Silvia, partnered by the warm-toned Birger Radde as Andrea, while the Holst Sinfonietta sparkles like a Viennese Christmas tree.

International Record Review
It's an immense pleasure to welcome this recording...The playing throughout Simon's excellent performance is crisp and stylish...The overall impression of this performance is of the greatest assurance and of sheer enjoyment: a few trifling moments aside, it's hard to imagine it being done with greater relish.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Groáer Saal, EWERK, Freiburg (04/20/2009-04/24/2009).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Korngold, Erich Wolfgang : Die stumme Serenade (The Silent Serenade), musical comedy, Op. 36
  • Performers: Wolf Aschmoneit (Voice); Frank Buchwald (Voice); Franziska Gundert (Voice); Juliane Hollerbach (Voice); Werner Klockow (Spoken Vocals); Jutta Lauer (Voice); Lena Lefari (Voice); Anna-Lucia Leone (Voice); Kerstin Manz (Voice); Birger Radde (Tenor); Sebastian Reich (Voice); Sarah Wegener (Voice)
  • Conductor: Klaus Simon
  • Ensemble: Holst Sinfonetta
  • Notes: Groáer Saal, EWERK, Freiburg (04/20/2009-04/24/2009)
  • Running Time: 7 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1946