1 800 222 6872

Bruckner: Symphony No. 9; Berg: Violin Concerto; Schubert / Christian Ferras

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Rosamunde
>Berg, Alban : Concerto for Violin
>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 9 in D minor, WAB 109
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

"Conducting is only a means to an end, never an end in itself. Making music is everything - and the less conducting draws attention to itself, the more beautiful the music will be and truly stir our hearts".

Joseph Keilberth joined the Karlsruhe Staatstheater at the age of seventeen as a répétiteur. Ten years later he became general music director, the youngest at the time in Germany. On Furtwängler's recommendation he was appointed chief conductor of the German Philharmonic Orchestra of Prague for the war years, moving to the Dresden State Opera (then in the Russian zone) in 1945. He remained in that position until 1950, by which time he had achieved a bizarre reunion with his Prague orchestra, now renamed the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and newly resident in that town in western Germany.

Keilberth was a great Wagnerian conductor and recorded the first-ever stereo Ring - now available as a celebrated Testament release in a 14-CD set - SBT141412.

If both the Bruckner and the Schubert overture which opened this 1960 concert were Keilberth regulars, the Berg Violin Concerto was a newcomer to his repertoire that became a personal favorite; it was also his first-ever Berg score. He prepared it for the first time in December 1955 for a Hamburg State Opera concert with André Gertler. "It's really coming together now", he noted, "but much still sounds as if it's wrong". A little later he wrote to his son Thomas: "I'm pleased that the Berg Concerto now means more to you. For me, it's the only 12-tone work that I like". Then, by the 1965/66 season, Keilberth was replying to a questionnaire about his "Ten 20thcentury Masterworks of Music". The Berg Concerto had become his No.2 choice, just ahead of Stravinsky's Dumbarton Oaks but losing out to Hindemith's Mathis der Maler Symphony.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Neues Festspielhaus, Salzburg (08/17/1960).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Rosamunde :: Overture
  • Conductor: Joseph Keilberth
  • Ensemble: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 11 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1823

>Berg, Alban : Concerto for Violin
  • Performer: Christian Ferras (Violin)
  • Conductor: Joseph Keilberth
  • Running Time: 10 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1935

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 9 in D minor, WAB 109
  • Conductor: Joseph Keilberth
  • Notes: Composition written: 1887-96.
  • Running Time: 60 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1887-1896