1 800 222 6872

Fanshawe: African Sanctus, Salaams / John Lambert, Owain Arwel Hughes, et al

Album Summary

>Fanshawe, David : African Sanctus, for chorus, ensemble & tape
>Fanshawe, David : Salaams, for cantor, 11 singers, piano, tapes & drums
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Written by English composer and ethnomusicologist David Fanshawe, 'African Sanctus' is a unique setting of the traditional Latin Mass harmonized with traditional African music. Fanshawe traveled up the Nile and taped traditional music from Cairo to Northern Uganda. Each section of the Mass incorporates different clips of African music from Egypt, Sudan, Kenya and Uganda, reflecting the composer's travels. Heard in counterpoint with chorus, soprano soloist and instrumental ensemble, the result is an unorthodox and completely unique experience.

The breathtakingly beautiful centerpiece of Fanshawe's repertoire has gained favor with listeners in the years since it's introduction in 1973. The fusing of a Catholic mass with native African and rock is certainly a leftfield concept, especially for the time in which it was conceived. As musical tastes have evolved, so has the perception of this groundbreaking recording.

Notes & Reviews:

Personnel: Peter Bamber, Gareth Roberts (tenor); David Beavan (bass voice); Alan Parker (guitar); Gerry Butler (organ); Terry Emery, Mustapha Tettey Addy, Gary Kettel (percussion).

Recording information: England (06/01/1973).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Fanshawe, David : African Sanctus, for chorus, ensemble & tape
  • Performers: Gary Kettel (Percussion); Martin Kershaw (Guitar); Tony Campo (Guitar); David Fanshawe (Cantor); Terry Emery (Percussion); Gerry Butler (Organ); Patricia Clark (Soprano); Alan Parker (Guitar); Mustapha Addy (Percussion); Valerie Hill (Soprano); Harold Lester (Piano)
  • Conductor: Owain Hughes
  • Ensemble: Ambrosian Singers
  • Running Time: 3 min. 5 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1978
  • Language: Latin
  • Studio/Live: Studio

>Fanshawe, David : Salaams, for cantor, 11 singers, piano, tapes & drums
  • Performers: Margaret Cable (Alto); Peter Bamber (Tenor); David Beavan (Bass); Rosemary Ashe (Soprano); Elisabeth Harrison (Organ); Gareth Roberts (Tenor); Richard Jackson (Baritone); Harold Lester (Drums); Harold Lester (Piano); Antony Ransome (Bass); Pamela Smith (Soprano); Linda Hirst (Alto); David Fanshawe (Cantor); Pat Hogan (Alto)
  • Conductor: John Lambert
  • Running Time: 21 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary