1 800 222 6872

Furtwängler: Violin Sonata No. 1; Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 1 / Sophie Moser, violin; Katja Huhn, piano

Album Summary

>Furtwängler, Wilhelm : Sonata for violin & piano no 1 in D minor
>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Sonata for Violin and Piano no 1 in D major, Op. 12 no 1
Performers Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Furtwängler completed his extensive First Violin Sonata in D minor in 1935, but the initial sketches reach back almost twenty years. The work was premiered in the Gewandhaus in Leipzig on March 4, 1937. The violinist was Hugo Kolberg, then leader of the Berlin Philharmonic, and Furtwängler himself was at the piano. A review of that evening's performance included the comment: "Passionately powerful obsession with music and supreme artistic determination are in constant interaction, giving the sonata stylistic complexity, behind which is concealed nothing more or less than an unceasing struggle for the highest spiritual truth."

American Record Guide, July / August 2012
The Beethoven sonata is much better - more transparent, more beautiful, and much more enjoyable for the players. It's a youthful work, written in 1797-8 when that composer was still in his 20s. It's one of three sonatas dedicated to Salieri; it's light fare compared to FurtwSngler's. Moser and Huhn are young but they play the Beethoven sonata with good taste, good balance, and beautiful tone though the piano sound sometimes sounds dull. They are quoted in the notes as loving FurtwSngler's music.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: SWR Kaiserslautern, Studio (2010-10-26_2010-10-28&2010-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Wilhelm Furtwängler (Conductor/Composer) (1886 - 1954) : Sonata for violin & piano no 1 in D minor
  • Performers: Katja Huhn (Piano); Sophie Moser (Violin)
  • Notes: SWR Kaiserslautern, Studio (10/26/2010-10/28/2010)
  • Running Time: 55 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1935

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Sonata for Violin and Piano no 1 in D major, Op. 12 no 1
  • Performers: Sophie Moser (Violin); Katja Huhn (Piano)
  • Notes: Composition written: 1797-98.
  • Running Time: 22 min. 27 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1797-1798