Wilco/Billy Bragg: Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions [Digipak]

Track List

>Walt Whitman's Niece
>California Stars
>Way Over Yonder in the Minor Key
>Birds and Ships
>Hoodoo Voodoo
>She Came Along to Me
>At My Window Sad and Lonely
>Ingrid Bergman
>Christ for President
>I Guess I Planted
>One by One
>Eisler on the Go
>Hesitating Beauty
>Another Man's Done Gone
>Unwelcome Guest, The
>Airline to Heaven
>My Flying Saucer
>Feed of Man
>Hot Rod Hotel
>I Was Born
>Secret of the Sea
>Stetson Kennedy
>Remember the Mountain Bed
>Blood of the Lamb
>Against th' Law
>All You Fascists
>Joe DiMaggio Done It Again
>Meanest Man
>Black Wind Blowing
>Someday Some Morning Sometime
>Bugeye Jim
>When the Roses Bloom Again
>Gotta Walk
>My Thirty Thousand
>Ought to Be Satisfied Now
>Listening to the Wind That Blows
>Go Down to the Water
>Chain of Broken Hearts
>Jailcell Blues
>Don't You Marry
>Give Me a Nail
>Jolly Banker, The
>Union Prayer
>Be Kind to the Boy on the Road
>Ain'ta Gonna Grieve
>Tea Bag Blues
>I'm Out to Get
>Man in the Sand [DVD]

Album Reviews:

Q (Magazine) (p.99) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]arm, harmonious and wonderful alt-country that modernised Guthrie rather than mimicking him. The pairing's creative spark was bountiful..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The unreleased material sustains earlier standards, from lonesome 'Listening To The Winds That Blow' to the gut level politics of 'My Thirty Thousand'..."

Album Notes

Recording information: Fort Apache Studio, Boston, MA (2009); King Size Sound Laboratories, Chicago, IL (2009); The Loft, Chicago, IL (2009); Totally Wired Studios, Dublin (2009); Windmill Lane, Dublin (2009).

Photographers: Ken Schles; Lester Balog; Peggy Plummer; Woody Guthrie.

Publisher: Anna Canoni.

The two volumes of Mermaid Avenue, released in 1998 and 2000 and named after the New York street where legendary folk artist Woody Guthrie lived in the 1940s, were collaborations between cult American alt-country/avant-garde rockers Wilco and revered British protest singer Billy Bragg, on which they set to music previously unreleased lyrics by Guthrie. This exhaustive four-disc set features both releases together with a whole new album of previously unreleased songs and the documentary Man in the Sand, which chronicles the project. ~ John D. Buchanan


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review