Alejandro Escovedo: Big Station

Track List

>Man of the World
>Big Station
>Sally Was a Cop
>Bottom of the World
>Can't Make Me Run
>San Antonio Rain
>Headstrong Crazy Fools
>Common Mistake
>Never Stood a Chance
>Party People
>Too Many Tears
>Sabor a Mi

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone (p.67) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Escovedo nods to his forebears here....'Bottom of the World' and 'San Antonio Rain' echo 'Queen Jane Approximately' and 'Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues'..."

Q (Magazine) (p.97) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Escovedo can lay claim to being one of the most underrated storytellers of our times."

Album Notes

Personnel: Alejandro Escovedo (vocals, guitar); David Pulkingham (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Karla Manzur, Gina Lopez Holton, Bobby Daniel (vocals); Warren Hood (violin, fiddle); Brian Standefer (cello); Elias Haslanger (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Ephraim Owens (trumpet); Evan Jacobs (Farfisa); Tony Visconti (keyboards, tambourine); Chris Searles (drums); Jim Eno (surdo, hand claps).

Audio Mixer: Tony Visconti.

Recording information: Human Worldwide Studios, New York, NY; Public Hi-Fi, Austin, TX.

Photographer: Todd Wolfson.

Big Station, Alejandro Escovedo's eleventh studio album, picks up where his 2010 recording, Street Songs of Love, left off. Once more produced by Tony Visconti, it contains 11 originals -- most co-written with Chuck Prophet. Most of these tracks are uptempo rockers, with a scant few featuring his now-signature ballad style with horn- and string-laden arrangements. Topically, he addresses everything from his own decline and disillusionment with his longtime residence Austin, Texas in "Bottom of the World," the Mexican drug wars ("Sally Was a Cop"), and even offers a pop number in "Party People."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review