1 800 222 6872

John Yao: In the Now [Digipak]

Track List

>Funky Sunday
>For NDJ
>In The Now
>Not Even Close
>Pink Eye
>Shorter Days

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

This debut album from the John Yao Quintet signals the definitive arrival of trombonist and composer, John Yao. Demonstrating a broad textural palette and drawing from an array of stylistic influences, Yao explores the concept of opposing forces. In the Now is a musical journey beyond conventional jazz form and structure, with the ensemble winding skillfully through a wide range of moods, colors, and textures.

Album Notes

Personnel: John Yao (trombone); Jon Irabagon (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Randy Ingram (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond b-3 organ); Will Clark (drums).

Audio Mixer: Ed Reed .

Recording information: Systems Two, Brooklyn, NY (08/30/2011/08/31/2011).

Director: Philip Blackburn.

Photographer: Bryan Murray.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review