1 800 222 6872

Lionel Sainsbury: Cello Concerto; John Foulds: Cello Concerto / Raphael Wallfisch, cello

Album Summary

>Sainsbury, Lionel : Concerto for Cello, Op. 27
>Foulds, John : Concerto for Cello no 1 in G major, Op. 17
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

This disc features cello concertos by Lionel Sainsbury and John Foulds. The Foulds is a youthful essay in a melodious late-Romantic idiom. The work has long been requested by Foulds enthusiasts after Raphael Wallfisch had revived it in a broadcast over twenty years ago. The concerto by Sainsbury features an unabashedly tonal and opulent melodic language, recalling the neo-romantic idiom of composers such as William Walton and Samuel Barber. On this recording, cellist Raphael Wallfisch is joined by conductor Martin Yates leading the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra for the Foulds (a world premiere) and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra for the Sainsbury, which was recorded in the presence of the composer.

Gramophone Magazine
It is quite thrilling to hear, after all this time, the fruits of [Sainsbury's] labour realised in such a commanding style...Strange how some pieces as vivid and beguiling as this can slip through the net.One really could not ask Messrs Wallfisch and Yates and both orchestras for more persuasive world premieres of two concertos that already seem like old friends.

Fanfare Magazine
The phenomenal Raphael Wallfisch applies his unlimited virtuosity and technique without stint to both works which, in spite of having been written almost a century apart, have so much in common that portions of each score sound almost interchangeable in structure and spirit - a striking testimony to the continuity (or the historical provinciality?) of English music. And of course Martin Yates supplies his customary polished intensity and commitment. These two first recordings offer a plenitude of pleasure to all lovers of English repertoire in general and of the cello in particular.

American Record Guide, September / October 2012
This is a very fine release of music by two composers that we should hear more of. The idioms blend well together, and Wallfisch and his orchestras play with warmth and clarity.

International Record Review, May 2012
Both are serious and satisfying works, worthy of our attention. Wallfisch is the natural choice as soloists. He plays with supreme authority in both works, devoting the same energy and care as he would to the greatest works in the repertoire. Martin Yates, too, has shown his willingness to explore these musical backwaters, and the two orchestras play marvellously well under his direction.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Sainsbury, Lionel : Concerto for Cello, Op. 27
  • Performer: Raphael Wallfisch (Cello)
  • Conductor: Martin Yates
  • Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra
  • Running Time: 33 min. 30 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1999

>Foulds, John : Concerto for Cello no 1 in G major, Op. 17
  • Performer: Raphael Wallfisch (Cello)
  • Conductor: Martin Yates
  • Ensemble: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 36 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1908-1909