1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Lohengrin / Vogt, Dasch, Groissblock, Groissbach, Grochawski, Resmark, Bruck

Audio Samples

  1. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I: Prelude $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 1: Hort! Grafen, Edle, Freie von Brabant! (Herald, Chorus, The King) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 1: Dank, Konig, dir, dass du zu richten kamst! (Friedrich, Chorus, Herald, The King) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 2: Seht ihn! Sie naht, die hart Beklagte! (Chorus, The King, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 2: Mich irret nicht ihr traumerischer Mut (Friedrich, Chorus, The King, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 2: Wer hier in Gotteskampfe zu streiten kam (Herald, Chorus, Friedrich, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 3: Nun sei bedankt, mein lieber Schwan! (Lohengrin, Chorus, The King) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 3: Nun horet mich und achtet wohl (Herald, Chorus, Lohengrin, Friedrich, The King, Elsa, Ortrud) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act I Scene 3: Durch Gottes Sieg ist jetzt dein Leben mein (Lohengrin, Chorus, The King, Elsa, Ortrud, Friedrich) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 1: Introduction $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 1: Erhebe dich, Genossin meiner Schmach! (Friedrich, Ortrud) $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 1: Du wilde Seherin! Wie willst du doch (Friedrich, Ortrud) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 2: Euch Luften, die mein Klagen (Elsa, Ortrud, Friedrich) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 2: Elsa! … Wer ruft? (Ortrud, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 2: Entweihte Gotter, helft jetzt meiner Rache! (Ortrud, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 2: Wie kann ich solche Huld dir lohnen (Ortrud, Elsa, Friedrich) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 4: Gesegnet soll sie schreiten (Chorus) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 4: Zuruck, Elsa! Nicht langer will ich dulden (Ortrud, Chorus, Elsa, The King, Lohengrin) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 4: O Konig! Trugbetorte Fursten! Haltet ein! (Friedrich, The King, Chorus, Lohengrin) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act II Scene 4: Welch ein Geheimnis muss der Held Bewahren? (The King, Chorus, Ortrud, Friedrich, Lohengrin, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III: Prelude $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 1: Treulich gefuhrt, ziehet dahin (Wedding March) (Ladies, Men, Women) $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 2: Das susse Lied verhallt; wir sind allein (Lohengrin, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 2: Atmest du nicht mit mir die sussen Dufte? (Lohengrin, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 3: Heil, Konig Heinrich! (All the Men, The King, Four Nobles) $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 3: Tale of the Grail: In fernem Land, unnahbar euren Schritten …(Lohengrin, The King, Men, Women)
  27. Wagner — Lohengrin: Act III Scene 3: Mein lieber Schwan! (Lohengrin, The King, Men, Women, Ortrud, Elsa) $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Lohengrin
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Lohengrin is the third volume of PentaTone's monumental undertaking of the recording of all 10 major Wagner Operas. The Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester und Chor, under the direction of Janowski, accompanies top Wagner soloists in each release. The cycle will be complete in the end of the Wagner year, 2013.

Gramphone Magazine
Janowski's Dutchman indicates that he is on course for a triumphant Wagner Cycle.

BBC Music Magazine
It is a phenomenal achievement of Marek Janowski to have welded his immense forces into a virtually flawless unity.

Classics Today
As early as the Prelude the quality of the audio shines: the separation of the strings is spotless and crystal-clear...the music, as it should, shimmers in mid air. And so it goes throughout the performance...[Vogt's] singing is outstandingly beautiful and sensitive, and you get used to the small-but-gleaming sound after a while...Lohengrin is supposed to be otherworldy, and Vogt's sound certainly is.

Sunday Times, July 2012
The shimmering "holy" textures of [the Act I prelude is] evidence of the sonorous string culture of this Berlin band, as remarkable as that of its Rattle- and Barenboim-led rivals. Janowski is a master Wagnerian, but his swift tempi and propulsive momentum are the antithesis of Barenboim's more spacious Wagner.

American Record Guide, November/December 2012
The performance omits the Anhang to the Grail Narrative (it might have been added as an appendix, especially given the comprehensive nature of the whole project). Libretto and translation are included. As far as the recorded sound goes, I've never heard better in Lohengrin, and many collectors will find that important - but bigger, steadier, and more beautiful voices are easier to find, and you should look for them. I have a fondness for Leinsdorf's Boston recording on RCA, but Kempe on EMI is still the best, with Solti (Decca), Abbado (DG), and even the old Bayreuth Keilberth (Naxos) following fairly close behind.

BBC Music Magazine, October 2012
Janowski has matured into the most reliably impressive Wagner conductor of our time...[Vogt] has a lovely voice, though it occasionally sounds thin; but he is expressive, intelligent and convincing. So is his Elsa, soprano Annette Dasch. The villains match them, especially mezzo-soprano Susanne Resmark as Ortrud, who calls on the pagan gods with thrilling panache...I await the rest of the Pentatone series with impatience.

International Record Review, September 2012
This is a Lohengrin to be listened to in Bruckner mode: revel in the sound of chorus and orchestra and put up with the voices, though I am sure some will react differently to Vogt's Lohengrin.

Gramophone Magazine, Awards Issue 2012
[Dasch] is the ne plus ultra in slim-sounding, girlish Elsas. But it sounds and works so beautifully...[Vogt's] understanding of the part triumphs, there is much lovely quieter singing and he is able to bring special atmosphere to the Grail narration...Resmark is pushed at times by the tessitura...but gives such a firecracker Ortrud that no one should care...There's a terrifyingly long list of worthwhile Lohengrin recordings, to which this newcomer is a serious competitor.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Berlin Philharmonie (11/12/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Lohengrin
  • Conductor: Marek Janowski
  • Ensemble: Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 110 min. 45 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1848