1 800 222 6872

Arnold Schoenberg: Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5; Erwartung, Op. 17 / Jeanne-Michele Charbonnet, soprano

> Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5 - Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5
> Erwartung, Op. 17 - Erwartung, Op. 17

Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, Op. 5
>Schoenberg, Arnold : Erwartung, Op. 17
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Schoenberg noted on the score that it is through composed; yet, musical interpretation has always varied from listener to listener. Whatever the case, in Pelleas und Melisande, Schoenberg created a sensually opulent masterpiece on the threshold of modernism. The same brilliant creativity is exposed in his miniature opera Erwartung. Both works show Schoenberg at two very different, yet pinnacle points of his compositional development.

American Record Guide, November/December 2012
Saraste, rightly I think, reinforces the pictorial aspects of both works. Writers and musicians often ignore the illustrative aspects of Schoenberg's music. He had a terrific visual imagination and, had he so chosen, would have been a well above average painter. His self-portraits are as good as any done of him by famous contemporary painters. Pelleas particularly benefits from this treatment. While listeners can readily appreciate it simply as a well-constructed piece of music, Schoenberg wanted the work to mirror every detail of Maeterlinck's drama. The Cologne players are up to a stiff pair of tasks, with recorded sound to match. One minor cavil: works as rich and complex as this need more than one cue.

Gramophone Magazine, October 2012
Charbonnet's performance, as recorded here, makes this kaleidoscopic score seem unremittingly hectic...However, if you believe that Erwartung embodies the composer's agonised attempt to exorcise the events of just a year before its composition...the music can never be too raw or shocking in effect.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Köln, Philharmonie.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pelleas und Melisande, symphonic poem, Op. 5
  • Conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
  • Ensemble: WDR Sinfonieorchester Koln
  • Notes: Composition written: 1902-03.
  • Running Time: 41 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1902-1903

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Erwartung, Op. 17
  • Performer: Jeanne-Michèle Charbonnet
  • Conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
  • Running Time: 23 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1909