1 800 222 6872

Charpentier: La Descente d'Orphée / Les Arts Florissants

Album Summary

>Charpentier, Marc-Antoine : La descente d'Orphée aux Enfers, opera, H. 488
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Agnew's heart-on-sleeve approach is not always beautiful, but it never leaves good taste behind, and in this he is well matched by his colleagues. William Christie's direction shows its customary sure dramatic touch , and the result-not for the first time for these artists-is a performance which seems unlikely to be bettered." -Gramophone


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Charpentier, Marc-Antoine : La descente d'Orphée aux Enfers, opera, H. 488
  • Performers: Fernando Bernhardi (Soprano); William Christie (Organ); William Christie (Harpsichord); Elizabeth Kenny (Lute); Francois Piolino (Voice); Simon Heyerick (Violin); Monique Zanetti (Viol); Serge Saitta (Flute); Patricia Petibon (Soprano); Sébastien Marq (Flute); Jean-Francois Gardeil (Baritone); Sophie Daneman (Soprano); Steve Dugardin (Countertenor); Isabel Serrano (Violin)
  • Conductor: William Christie
  • Ensemble: Les Arts Florissants
  • Notes: Salle Berthier, Opéra Comique, Paris, France (05/20/1995-05/23/1995)
  • Running Time: 2 min. 54 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: ?1686