1 800 222 6872

Ron Westray/Wycliffe Gordon: Bone Structure

Track List

>Coming Is Going...
>Modern Nostalgia
>It's Time
>Rhythm Cone
>New Beginnings (Groove Cone)
>Esoteric Advent (Turkish Coffee)
>Way Back When
>Mayfest Junction (Cone's Place)

Album Notes

Personnel: Wycliffe "Pine Cone" Gordon (trombone, tuba); Ron Westray (trombone); Marcus Roberts (piano); Reginald Veal (bass); Herlin Riley (drums).

Recorded at The Boiler Room, New Orleans, Louisiana in January 1996. Includes liner notes by Travis A. Jackson.

Personnel: Wycliffe Gordon (trombone, tuba); Ron Westray (trombone); Marcus Roberts (piano); Herlin Riley (drums).

Recording information: Boiler Room, New Orleans, LA (01/1996).

Photographer: David Katzenstein.

For this set, the two young trombonists Wycliffe Gordon and Ron Westray provide plenty of fireworks both in their individual solos (which are consistently colorful) and in the ensembles. Teamed up with pianist Marcus Roberts, bassist Reginald Veal and drummer Herlin Riley, Gordon and Westray perform 11 originals that they wrote or co-wrote. The music sometimes looks toward the swing tradition but also has some post bop and fairly free selections. The extroverted personalities (and occasional humor) of the co-leaders make this often-rambunctious set of strong interest. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product