1 800 222 6872

Waylon Jennings/Willie Nelson: Waylon & Willie

Track List

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Gordon Payne (acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica, background vocals); Rance Wasson (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Reggie Young (eletric guitar); Larry Whitmore, Chips Moman, John Hug, Fred Newell (guitar); Buddy Emmons, Ralph Mooney (steel guitar); Don Brooks (harmonica); Kyle Lehning (trumpet, piano, organ); Dee Moeller (piano, organ); Barny Robertson (organ, keyboards, background vocals); Sherman Hayes, Duke Goff (bass); Richie Albright, Eddy Anderson (drums); Becky Williams, Carter Robertson (background vocals).

Producers: Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Chips Moman, Ken Mansfield.

Compilation producer: Rob Santos.

Recorded at American Studios, Nashville, Tennessee between August 1977 and November 1977. Originally released on RCA (#2686). Includes liner notes by Rich Kienzle.

Digitally remastered by Mike Hartry (BMG).

Waylon and Willie have always been a natural fit. They both helped pioneer the Outlaw Country move00nt in the '70s, with a raw, rootsy approach with enough grit to appeal to rockers and hardcore honky-tonkers. While both men are superstars in their own right, their collaborations have endeared them to an even larger audience, and this compilation focuses on some of that partnership's key moments.

The quirky muse of Kris Kristofferson is tapped for the eccentric state-of-the-world tune "The Year 2003 Minus 25" and "Don't Cuss The Fiddle," and the duo pulls off an admirably understated take on "Dock of the Bay." shine here. Classic beer-swigging jukebox staples like "Good Hearted Woman" and "Mammas Don't Let Your Babys Grow Up To Be Cowboys."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product