1 800 222 6872

The Gaslamp Killer: Breakthrough [Digipak]

Track List

>Breakthrough - (featuring Computer Jay)
>Veins - (featuring Gonjasufi)
>Holy Mt. Washington - (featuring Computer Jay/Gonjasufi)
>Critic - (featuring Mophono)
>Dead Vets - (featuring Adrian Younge/Mrr)
>Flange Face - (featuring Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
>Apparitions - (featuring Gonjasufi)
>Peasants, Cripples & Retards - (featuring Samiyam)
>Meat Guilt - (featuring R.S.I.)
>Keep It Simple Stupid - (featuring Shigeto)
>Seven Years of Bad Luck for Fun
>In the Dark...

Album Reviews:

Q (Magazine) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[P]otent incantations such as 'Nissim' and, particularly, the two tracks with Warp's sinister rapper Gonjasufi, prove this to be a wonderfully bananas breakthrough."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.95) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The Gaslamp Killer's William Bensussen mashes up cavernous hip hop beats, 8-bit electronica, West Coast psych and glitch on BREAKTHROUGH..."

Album Notes

Photographer: Raymond Van Mil.

Breakthrough, William Bensussen's first album as the Gaslamp Killer, provides more of the left-field beat psychedelia he offered through his 2009-2010 Brainfeeder EPs, his production work on Gonjasufi's A Sufi and a Killer, and all of his other collaborative work dating back to 2006's "Cadillac Steeze" (recorded with Blu under the name Bobby Johnson). Whipping through these mostly brief tracks, whether in order or at random, one gets the sense that Bensussen is everlastingly scatterbrained with a voracious musical appetite, regardless of origin, from east to west, whether it came from a Turkish opium den or a Midwestern U.S. garage. He takes the trip with several past and new recording partners. The psych-folk freak-out "Apparitions," featuring Gonjasufi, sways drunkenly with random organ filigrees. "Dead Vets," made with Adrian Younge, is nightmarish funk with a gnashing beat, somewhere between an amateur David Axelrod cover band and early Funkadelic. The likes of Shigeto, Samiyam, and Daedelus also assist, but the most fruitful collaboration comes from Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, whose suspenseful strings and Wurlitzer work on "Flange Face" is magnetic and petrifying. Breakthrough splatters so many short ideas across its 47 minutes that a front-to-back listen is wearying, like hearing a dozen erratic interludes mixed in with a handful of lengthier sketches that are no more settled. Better to dip in and out, and approach it like a trio of EPs thrown into a shuffled playlist. ~ Andy Kellman


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review