1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Complete Violin Sonatas / Leonidas Kavakos, violin; Enrico Pace, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Acclaimed Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos makes his Decca Classics debut with complete Beethoven Violin Sonatas.

A young artist of rare quality, Leonidas Kavakos won the Sibelius Violin Competiton in 1985, when still in his teens and, three years later, the Paganini Competition.

Often described as "the violinist's violinist" Der Tagesspiegel wrote that Kavakos has "quite possibly the most beautiful violin tone imaginable".

He has appeared with conductors including Riccardo Chaill, Valery Gergiev and Ivan ischer, and with the world's major orchestras, including the Berliner Philharmoniker, Gewandhausorchester, London Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

A committed chamber musician and recitalist he is a favored artist at the Edinburgh, Montreux, Sazburg and Verbier festivals.

Leonidas Kavakos will perform the Beethoven sonata cycle in venues across Europe in 2013.

Gramophone Magazine, March 2013
This is a notably well-played set, and Pace and Kavakos have considered deeply how to present Beethoven's ideas in the clearest, most vivid way. Phrases are precisely articulated, the dynamic shapes and stress points brought into clear focus.

The Independent on Sunday, 17th February 2013
In their beautifully balanced survey of Beethoven's Sonatas for Violin and Piano, Kavakos and Pace allow us to eavesdrop on 10 intimate conversations between musical equals.

bbc.co.uk, 18th March 2013
Kavakos' tone is both sweet and full-blooded, never overblown; Pace's contribution is lithe, characterful and sensitive...this vital, joyous set of Beethoven's boundary pushing sonatas takes its place among the very best.

International Record Review, May 2013
[Op. 96] holds some of the most delicate and refined playing of the set...This is a milestone in Kavakos's remarkable career and a worthy successor to the four-decades-old Perlman/Ashkenazy classic.

BBC Music Magazine, July 2013
If you like your Beethoven serious in tone, intellectually concentrated, free of caprice or any hint of waywardness, then this set is likely to please...Both players seem very much of the same mind in this performance [of the Kreutzer], and there's clearly a strong rapport between them.

MusicWeb International, 25th June 2013
As a duo they are at the level of their illustrious forebears. In general, Kavakos and Pace approach these sonatas as Classical works and present them from a patrician point of view...theirs may become my reference edition of these particular sonatas.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased