1 800 222 6872

Hiromi/The Trio Project: Move

Track List

>Brand New Day
>Suite Escapism: Reality
>Suite Escapism: Fantasy
>Suite Escapism: In Between
>11:49 PM

Album Notes

Personnel: Hiromi (piano, keyboards); Anthony Jackson (contra guitar); Simon Phillips (drums).

Audio Mixer: Michael Bishop .

Recording information: Aire Born Studios, Studio A, Zionsville, IN (04/18/2012-04/21/2012).

Photographer: Sakiko Nomura.

Move is Hiromi's second "Trio Project" recording with electric bassist Anthony Jackson and drummer Simon Phillips, and is a worthy follow-up to 2011's Voice. The pianist/composer defines the compositions on Move as mirroring an average day, starting with the title track, a choppy excursion that finds the trio connecting through a maze of twists and turns. "Brand New Day" is smoother than the previous track but doesn't lose any of the energy. Hiromi switches between piano and an analog synthesizer on "Endeavor," which, unfortunately, sounds like a novelty and cheapens the otherwise enjoyable composition. "Rainmaker" glides between fusion and post-bop. "Margarita!" is fun party funk. The final track, "11:49 PM," brings the day, and this very satisfying session, to its conclusion. ~ Al Campbell


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

  • >Duet (Corea, Chick)
There are no recommendations posted for this product