1 800 222 6872

Sammy Kershaw: A Sammy Klaus Christmas

Track List

>'Twas the Night Before Christmas
>Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
>Jingle Bells
>That Spirit of Christmas
>Twelve Days of Christmas, The
>Here Comes Santa Claus
>Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
>Silent Night
>Up On the Housetop
>Have a Holly Jolly Christmas
>Santa Claus is Back in Town
>'Twas the Night Before Christmas [Cajun Version]

Album Notes

Personnel: Sammy Kershaw (background vocals); Gary McGuire (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Joe Caverlee (fiddle); Steve Farmer (piano); Steve Larson (drums); Butch Carr (percussion, background vocals); Melanie Cannon, Garnett Bowman, John Wesley Ryles (background vocals).

Audio Mixer: Butch Carr.

Recording information: 2801 Studios; LA 1 Studios; Sound Emporium Studios; The Love Shack Studios.

A mere 18 years after his first holiday album, Sammy Kershaw returned in 2012 with A Sammy Klaus Christmas, a lively little Christmas record that finds the country singer in good cheer. He stumbles only twice on this tight 12-track album: he opens the album with a recital of "'Twas the Night Before Christmas," three minutes of spoken word that threaten to derail the album before it starts (at its conclusion he offers a "Cajun" night before Christmas, an idea that's more clever in theory than in practice), and he covers "The Twelve Days of Christmas," a tune so plodding that no amount of effort can keep it engaging. But these are small bumps on a ride that's otherwise very engaging. Kershaw keeps things simple -- this is clean, lively traditional country, sometimes dressed in a lot of sleigh bells -- but he sounds like he's having a whale of a time singing these songs of good cheer and, consequently, it's hard not to have a good time while listening to A Sammy Klaus Christmas. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product