John Hartford: Wild Hog in the Red Brush

Track List

>Squirrel Hunters
>Grandmammy Look at Uncle Sam
>Old Virginia Reel
>Flannery's Dream
>Down at the Mouth of Old Stinson
>Girl With the Blue Dress On, The
>Wild Hog in the Red Brush
>Over the Road to Maysville
>Bumblebee in a Jug
>Shelvin' Rock
>Molly Put the Kettle On
>West Fork Gals
>Portsmouth Airs
>Jimmy in the Swamp
>Lady of the Lake
>Natchez Under the Hill

Album Notes

Personnel: John Hartford (fiddle); Ronnie McCoury (guitar); Bob Carlin (banjo); Mike Compton (mandolin); Jerry McCoury (bass).

WILD HOG IN THE RED BRUSH was nominated for a 1997 Grammy Award for Best Traditional Folk Album.

Personnel: John Hartford (fiddle); Ronnie McCoury (guitar); Bob Carlin (banjo); Mike Compton (mandolin).

Audio Mixers: Hank Tilbury; Mark Howard.

Liner Note Author: John Hartford.

Recording information: Eleven-O-Three Studio, Nashville, TN.

Photographer: Steve Gebhardt.

This album is a generous helping of tunes (19 in all) which were allegedly first performed by Ohio River Valley fiddler Ed Haley. His actual recordings were an influence on John Hartford and his Hartford String Band (a subsequent release, THE SPEED OF THE OLD LONG BOW, is a full tribute to Haley's music). In researching this music Hartford and his cohorts encountered selections which were reported to form part of Haley's repertoire, but which he had never recorded.

The music yields a varied and deep range of sources and inspirations, some of it starting as Celtic music and migrating from the British Isles via immigrants to America. The notes detail what is known of each song, and are presented with Hartford's customary casual friendliness and light humor.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review