1 800 222 6872

Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben; Sextet from Capriccio / Schwarz, Seattle SO

Album Summary

>Strauss, Richard : Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40
>Strauss, Richard : Capriccio, Op.85
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Autobiographical in content, Richard Strauss's Ein Heldenleben is one of a series of tone-poems, including, Also Sprach Zarathustra (Naxos 8.571215), in which he explored the utmost limits of extra-musical content in this form. The hero passes through love and adversity, confrontation, triumph in battle and fulfillment in a single, powerfully descriptive symphonic span. Gerard Schwarz's Ein Heldenleben has been acclaimed as "exciting and inspired" (Gramophone ). The opera Capriccio is a romantic struggle to choose between words and music which opens with a gloriously bitter-sweet string sextet.

American Record Guide, March / April 2013
Ein Heldenleben (Sept/Oct 1992) stands up well to Schwarz's theatrics. Ilka Talvi's violin solos are delicate and sweet, with wonderful doublestopping. Mahlerian, it is fresh, as is the whole performance. Good as this performance is, its appeal is neutralized by the Capriccio Prelude.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Strauss, Richard : Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40
  • Performer: Ilkka Talvi (Violin)
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Ensemble: Seattle Symphony
  • Running Time: 21 min. 40 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1897-1898

>Strauss, Richard : Capriccio, Op.85
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Running Time: 13 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1943