1 800 222 6872

Ludwig van Beethoven: Missa Solemnis Op. 123 / Herreweghe, Collegium Vocale Gent; Orchestre des Champs-Elysees / Petersen, Romberger, Hulett, Wilson-Johnson

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This major work of the sacred repertoire, high on the list alongside Bach's Mass in B minor and the Mozart Requiem, is Beethoven's longest work and assuredly the one that demanded the most work. The composer even considered the Mass his finest work. Philippe Herreweghe shares this opinion, and judges the Missa solemnis to be one of the apogees in the history of classical music. With four superb soloists and a refined chorus and orchestra, Philippe Herreweghe invites us to a thoroughly transcendental experience.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Contertgebouw Brugge (11/16/2011-11/19/2011).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
  • Performers: Benjamin Hulett (Voice); Marlis Petersen (Soprano); Gerhild Romberger (Alto); David Wilson-Johnson (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent
  • Notes: Contertgebouw Brugge (11/16/2011-11/19/2011)
  • Running Time: 74 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1819-1823