1 800 222 6872

The Slide Brothers: Robert Randolph Presents: The Slide Brothers

Track List

>Don't Keep Me Wonderin'
>My Sweet Lord
>Sunday School Blues
>Wade in the Water
>Praise You
>It Hurts Me Too
>Catch That Train
>Motherless Children
>Help Me Make It Through
>Sky Is Crying, The
>No Cheap Seats in Heaven

Album Reviews:

Billboard (p.39) - "[With] a sampling of spirituals, including a particularly hot instrumental take on 'Wade in the Water.'"

Album Notes

Audio Mixer: Eddie Kramer.

Liner Note Author: John McDermott .

Recording information: LAFX Studios, North Hollywood, CA.

Photographer: Brad Gregory.

The first studio album by pedal steel icons the Slide Brothers incorporates the sacred steel tradition in gospel music with rock, funk, and blues. The quartet and like-minded co-producers John McDermott and Robert Randolph -- the pedal steel guitarist and leader of the Family Band -- embrace the philosophy that traditional gospel and secular music should not be divided but celebrated. That diversity is reflected in the tasteful union of material linking the Allman Brothers classic "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'," Fatboy Slim's trip-hop hit "Praise You," two Elmore James tracks, George Harrison's "My Sweet Lord," and an instrumental version of the spiritual "Wade in the Water." No matter what categorization this music is relegated to, it doesn't change the genuine celebratory nature the Slide Brothers bring to the listener. Making special appearances with the band are Calvin Cooke, Chuck Campbell, Darick Campbell and Aubrey Ghent, the Blind Boys of Mississippi, Shemekia Copeland, Billy Cox, and the aforementioned Robert Randolph & the Family Band. ~ Al Campbell


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review