1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony no 9 "Choral" / Hilde Guden, Rosette Anday, Julius Patzak, Alfred Poell. Wilhelm Furtwängler

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

A live recording from 1951, this release hails from the latter portion of the artistic collaboration between the Vienna Philharmonic and Wilhelm Furtwängler, who was principal conductor of the orchestra from 1933 to 1945 and 1947 to 1954. It was Furtwängler who saved the orchestra from disbandment by the National Socialists in 1938, and saved those members who were half Jewish or otherwise related from expulsion. Originally released by Orfeo Records, this performance of Beethoven's Symphony No.9 is now available on SACD in a special remastering from Tahra.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Musikvereinssaal de Vienne (02/03/1952).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler
  • Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic
  • Running Time: 51 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824