Elmore James: Rollin' & Slidin' [Digipak]

Track List

>Dust My Broom
>Shake Your Moneymaker
>Look Over Yonder Wall
>Got to Love
>One Way Out
>Sky Is Crying, The
>Anna Lee
>Rollin' and Tumblin'
>Done Somebody Wrong
>Baby Please Set a Date
>It Hurts Me Too
>Twelve Year Old Boy, The
>Cry for Me Baby
>Knockin' at Your Door
>Standing at the Crossroads
>Mean and Evil (The Way You Treat Me)
>Rock My Baby Right
>Hand in Hand
>Early in the Morning
>Hawaiian Boogie
>Dust My Broom [1951 Studio Version]

Album Notes

Personnel: Eddie Taylor, Homesick James Williamson (guitar); Sonny Boy Williamson II (harmonica); Ike Turner, Johnny Jones (piano); Fred Below, Odie Payne, Jr., Sam Myers (drums).

Liner Note Author: Alfie Falckenbach.

Elmore James (a former radio repairman) spent a good deal of time re-wiring his amplifiers, giving him a raw, distorted, and urgent sound on electric guitar that, coupled with his killer slide style, made him essentially the Godfather of modern electric guitar. This 21-track collection leads off with James' signature tune, a reworking of Robert Johnson's "Dust My Broom." The roaring slide riff from "Dust" is repeated many times on this set, since labels constantly demanded it, and James delivered it under a range of different titles, and amazingly, no one ever seems to get tired of it. Truthfully, James never recorded a lame track (even if dozens of them were variations on "Dust My Broom"), and that signature, roaring slide guitar sound will forever be his calling card. ~ Steve Leggett


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review