1 800 222 6872

Furio Di Castri: Unknown Voyage

Track List

>Unknwon Voyage
>Luce e Ombra
>Ancient Wood, The
>Life Song
>Elena's Slow Dance
>Way Out
>Mingus' Faces

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Furio Di Casti (acoustic bass); Joe Lovano (tenor saxophone); Franco D'Andrea (piano); Paul Motian (drums).

Recorded at Studio Emme, Florence, Italy on December, 1988 and Studio Natali, Florence, Italy on April, 1988.

Personnel: Joe Lovano (tenor saxophone).

Liner Note Author: Dario Voltolini.

Recording information: Studio Emme, Firenze (04/1988); Studio Natali, Firenze (04/1988); Studio Emme, Firenze (12/1988); Studio Natali, Firenze (12/1988).

Photographer: Agostino Mela.

When you realize the kind of talent Italian bassist Furio Di Castri attracted for this session you know it is bound to be something special. Joining the Americans, tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano and drummer Paul Motian, are superb Italian pianist Franco D'Andrea and, on a couple of cuts, trumpeter extraordinaire Flavio Boltro, as well as drummer Manhu Roche. There is strong blowing all around, with D'Andrea particularly impressive with his blend of innovative harmony and deft subtlety. Di Castri wrote all the tunes, which tend toward the sensitive side, a perspective for which Motian, in particular, is aptly suited. Lovano is the "big" name here, and he does not disappoint. Whatever the velocity or dynamics, Lovano has little difficulty making himself at home. Boltro is a wonderful plus on the short final number, but the two horn line of the trumpeter with Lovano is a jazz lover's dream, leading one to wonder if more might be available from the session. ~ Steven Loewy


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product