1 800 222 6872

Vivaldi: Le Quattro Stagioni (The Four Seasons) / I Musici

Album Summary

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerto for Violin in E major, Op. 8 no 1/RV 269 "Primavera"
>Britten, Benjamin : Simple Symphony for Strings, Op. 4
Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The event of "I Musici" is something extraordinary. It's the oldest (or if you prefer most long-lived) chamber group still active. They opened the way of Italian 18th century music to the whole world. They carried Rome's name, of course Italy's and Italian music to five continents, roving with their repertoire from the 18th to the 21st century.

American Record Guide, September/October 2013
I Musici's approach to this music is well known - there are at least two other (probably more) excellent commercial recordings by them. They give you the crisp articulation and lightness of a period-instrument performance without the whiny, sour sound. Even better, they convey a real sense of joy at the sentiments of this very pictorial music and at the chance to indulge in their own virtuosity. I've long favored their old analog 1970s Philips recording. Dynamic gives us digital clarity and brings back some of the analog warmth. When I first started playing this, I thought it might be an SACD, but no - it's just a really well-engineered standard CD. Fantastic. I'm keeping this disc in the car for a while - for times when I need some reviving after a draining day at work.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Forum Village, Rome.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerto for Violin in E major, Op. 8 no 1/RV 269 "Primavera"
  • Conductor: Antonio Anselmi
  • Ensemble: I Musici
  • Notes: Forum Village, Rome (01/02/2012-01/04/2012)
  • Running Time: 37 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1725

>Britten, Benjamin : Simple Symphony for Strings, Op. 4
  • Ensemble: I Musici
  • Running Time: 15 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1934