Roxy Music: Manifesto [Limited Edition]

Album Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.108) - "...[It] was the last time they sounded remotely abrasive....the singles shine, and 'Spin Me Round' is the kind of romantic nostalgia that Ferry excelled at..."

Album Notes

Roxy Music: Bryan Ferry (vocals, keyboards); Phil Manzanera (guitar); Andy Mackay (oboe, saxophone); Paul Thompson (drums); Alan Spencer, Gary Tibbs, Paul Garrack.

All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.

MANIFESTO was Roxy Music's 1979 return after a hiatus of several years. This second phase of the band continued in the direction begun with their 1975 album SIREN. Lush romanticism now enveloped their sound, softening the barbs and burrs that had been a characteristic since their art school beginnings with Brian Eno at the start of the decade. MANIFESTO yielded several hits and songs of enduring popularity in the Bryan Ferry songbook, notably "Angel Eyes" and "Dance Away." The latter, in fact, sounds of a piece with Ferry's eighties solo work--gorgeous, lush, and exceedingly romantic. This album and its two successors (FLESH & BLOOD and AVALON) effectively form a bridge from the glam-rock of the early '70s to the more sedate, but rich and confident, sounds of pop music for adults.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review