1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev & Stravinsky Violin Concertos / Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin; Jurowski

Album Summary

>Stravinsky, Igor : Concerto for Violin in D major
>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Violin no 2 in G minor, Op. 63
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The Times, 25th October 2013
The pungency of her playing is what thrills the most, from the opening chord's slap in the face...Jurowski and the LPO bring similar bite to the orchestral component, with each instrumental line clear and glinting. The performance is irresistible, from first to last...This is a violinist with something more important to offer than dazzling technique. It's called character.

MusicWeb International, 4th December 2013
From the start, it is clear that there is a lot more to her than glittering technical accomplishment. That quality is present in spadefuls, but is simply used to back up a truly outstanding imagination...There is a sense of discovery, of spontaneous re-creation of these two masterpieces. Totally stylish yet wholly new; great playing and a truly outstanding issue.

BBC Music Magazine, January 2014
Kopatchinskaja brings [virtuosity] to the [Stravinsky] in spades, but she also shatters the image of the work as a neo-classical homage to Bach...Her whole approach to Stravinsky...brings his world close to Prokofiev's...where Kopatchinskaja seems to be feeling her way into the music...A wonderful disc.

Gramophone Magazine, January 2014
One feels that with every phrase she has succeeded in making the [Prokofiev] concerto her own...Throughout both concertos, conductor and orchestra appear to support with enthusiasm Kopatchinskaja's vision of the music, with many distinguished solo contributions...Not to be missed.

American Record Guide, March/April 2014
Patricia Kopatchinskaja is a 36-year-old violinist from Moldova; she played Carnegie Hall several years ago. Her performance of the Bartok Concerto (M/A 2013) was stunning, and she again impresses me with her tone, lyricism, and the infectious personality she gives to the Stravinsky. She is more deliberate in III than Mintz as well.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Lyndhurst Hall, London, England (05/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Stravinsky, Igor : Concerto for Violin in D major
  • Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaya (Violin)
  • Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski
  • Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 20 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1931

>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Violin no 2 in G minor, Op. 63
  • Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaya (Violin)
  • Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski
  • Notes: Composition written: 1935.
  • Running Time: 27 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1935