1 800 222 6872

Neil Rolnick (b.1947): Gardening at Gropius House / Alarm Will Sound; Todd Reynolds, violin

Album Summary

>Rolnick, Neil : Gardening at Gropius House, for electronics
>Rolnick, Neil : Ansomia, for electronics
Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Rejecting European modernism in the head modernist's own backyard, and imagining the world without a nose. These are the points of departure for Neil Rolnick's new CD, Gardening At Gropius House. And though the topics sound serious, the music is joyful and uplifting, infused with grooves and sticky melodies, with exuberant and virtuosic writing all around. // In a recent feature on Rolnick at NewMusicBox.com, Frank Oteri said 'over 30 years he has helped to create a much changed musical landscape in the United States.' Gardening At Gropius House and Anosmia keep pushing those changes. The title piece, a concerto for violin, computer and ensemble, features the irrepressible Todd Reynolds with members of Alarm Will Sound, conducted by Alan Pierson. The second piece, Anosmia, is a monodrama for three singers (Andy Osmia and the 2 Scents), computer and ensemble, featuring baritone Daniel Cilli and the New Music Ensemble of the San Francisco Conservatory, conducted by Nicole Paiement.

American Record Guide, May/June 2014
Neil Rolnick's Gardening at Gropius House has something for almost everyone. The melodies are lovely, bolstered by a quiet confidence protruding from brass accompaniment and string pedal tones. The percussion and computer effects add subtle colors to specific sections. The result is pleasing.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rolnick, Neil : Gardening at Gropius House, for electronics
  • Conductor: Alan Pierson
  • Ensemble: Alarm Will Sound
  • Notes: Recital Hall of the National Opera Center in New York City (06/13/2013-06/14/2013)
  • Running Time: 30 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2012

>Rolnick, Neil : Ansomia, for electronics
  • Conductor: Nicole Paiement
  • Ensemble: San Francisco Conservatory New Music Ensemble
  • Running Time: 29 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2011