1 800 222 6872

Schubert: Octet F major D 803 for clarinet, bassoon, horn & strings / Consortium Classicum

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Octet for Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon and Strings in F major, D 803/Op. 166
Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This is a richly blended, characterful account of Schubert's glorious Octet...the fine German musicians of Consortium Classicum play with great feeling, sensitivity, and understated virtuosity, especially clarinetist Dieter Klocker, the group's founder. The scherzo goes with a hearty vigor, and the Andante's variations are wonderfully characterized, the concluding allegro tossed off with great exhilaration and bristling energy..." -Johnson, Fanfare

Schubert composed the octet, the crowning glory of his chamber music and a work of profound emotion, four years before his death and during a period of surging creative energy. He intended it as "practice for a great symphony" but it turned out to be an independent work of art and powerhouse of persuasion far transcending the goals of a compositional exercise.

Thirty years after Schubert's death this overpowering octet had still not been published in full. It was seventy years later that this "dimensional enigma" and "soulful little symphony" saw the light of publication.

For more than thirty years Consortium Classicum has stood for the very best in German classical music. The ensemble, a regular member of the MDG recording team, has been showered with rave reviews! and recording prizes.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Octet for Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon and Strings in F major, D 803/Op. 166
  • Ensemble: Consortium Classicum
  • Notes: Fürstliche Reitbahn Arolsen (12/11/1996-12/14/1996)
  • Running Time: 62 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1824