1 800 222 6872

Britten: Noye's Fludde / Wilks, Wilson, Wyn, BBC Concert

Album Summary

>Britten, Benjamin : Noye's Fludde, children's opera, Op. 59
>Britten, Benjamin : A Ceremony of Carols, Op. 28
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This production has the benefit of very strong voices in Benjamin Luxon - resonant and impressive as 'The Voice of God' and David Wilson-Johnson as a somewhat put-upon 'Noye'... This CD is worth it for the big names and vast forces of Noye's Fludde alone, and the coupling makes it doubly attractive. Don't be fooled into thinking this is a souvenir from some school production with only local interest. This recording can hold its own in any catalogue, and deserves as much recognition as any around." -MusicWeb


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : Noye's Fludde, children's opera, Op. 59
  • Performers: Emma Dawson (Recorder); Alexander Snow (Recorder); Christine Berry (Double Bass); Stephanie Lane (Percussion); Eleanor Cook (Viola); Wendy Weinstock (Recorder); Frank Carson (Recorder); Lucy Dawson (Recorder); Elizabeth Halpern (Violin); William Snow (Recorder); Clare Rossiter (Soprano); Charlotte Simmons (Recorder); Jack Parker (Recorder); Juliette Mullin (Recorder); Lawrence Durkin (Cello); Jennifer Bate (Organ); Peter Davis (Violin); Emily Mott (Violin); Helen Kendrick; Lindsey Waller (Double Bass); Rosie Kennally (Violin); Emma Kraemer (Violin); Louisa Anderson (Recorder); Adam Dennis (Percussion); Jenny Slattery (Recorder); Roisin Healy (Recorder); Amy Lane (Percussion); Corinne O'Sullivan (Cello); Katherine Davidson (Violin); Jennifer Watts (Violin); Louise Dorrington; Luisa Gerstein (Recorder); Elizabeth Yarde-Martin (Recorder); Myriam Taoudi (Recorder); Catherine Wyn-Rogers (Alto); Richard Wise (Piano); Kevin Tomkins (Violin); Hao-Ming-Yau (Violin); Pamela Mason (Violin); David Wilson-Johnson (Bass-Baritone); Fanfare Trumpeters of the Welsh Guard (Bugle); Russell Durkin (Violin); Livia Harris (Recorder); Mìra Higgins; Francoise Roberts; Elizabeth Shepherd (Piano); Claus en (Percussion); Michael Dore (Double Bass); Tristan Fry (Timpani); Tristan Fry (Percussion); Martin Hooley (Viola); George Harrison (Recorder); Helen Sheldon (Violin); Helen Cass (Violin); Kate Robson (Recorder); Lucy Colwell (Violin); Susan Alleyne (Violin); Ann Clausen (Percussion); Imogen Rush (Soprano); Benjamin Luxon (Voice); Richard Watson (Double Bass); Judy Barnett (Violin); John Langley (Violin); Jonathan Smith (Violin); Matthew Connell (Treble); Joanne Ankier (Cello); Lorna Lyons (Violin); Paul Lovegrove (Percussion); Nigel Blomiley (Cello); Rhiannon White (Viola); Selena Mirams (Violin); Sophie Harris (Recorder); Terence McDermott (Viola); Georgina Revell (Recorder); Cynthia Fleming (Violin); Ned Dyke-Coombes (Violin); Aisha Phoenix (Viola); Lara Rosenthal (Recorder); Sophie Curtis (Recorder); Daniel Sutcliffe (Violin); Dominic Hargreaves (Violin); Paul Dowling (Violin); Hannah Mulder (Soprano); James Deacon (Violin); Oliver Belas (Percussion); H. Baylav (Violin); Emily Cinnamon (Recorder); Ellie Douglas (Cello); Andrew Leveson (Treble); Holly Clarke (Recorder)
  • Conductor: Nicholas Wilks
  • Ensemble: BBC Concert Orchestra members
  • Notes: Haberdashers' Aske's School, Elstree, Hertfordshire, England (10/18/1997-10/19/1997)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1957

>Britten, Benjamin : A Ceremony of Carols, Op. 28
  • Performers: Luisa Gerstein (Recorder); Paul Dowling (Violin); Lorna Lyons (Violin); Lucy Colwell (Violin); Ellie Douglas (Cello); Terence McDermott (Viola); Emily Cinnamon (Recorder); H. Baylav (Violin); Harriet Plewis (Voice); Dominic Hargreaves (Violin); Emily Mott (Violin); Russell Durkin (Violin); Oliver Belas (Percussion); Ned Dyke-Coombes (Violin); Elizabeth Shepherd (Piano); Charlotte Simmons (Recorder); William Snow (Recorder); Elizabeth Halpern (Violin); Lucy Dawson (Recorder); Jai Pond (Voice); Emma Dawson (Recorder); Wendy Weinstock (Recorder); Jack Parker (Recorder); Stephanie Lane (Percussion); Helen Cass (Violin); Sophie Curtis (Recorder); Aisha Phoenix (Viola); Jeffrey Dyball (Harp); Christine Berry (Double Bass); Jessie Holder (Voice); Emma Lindars (Voice); Alexander Snow (Recorder); Eleanor Cook (Viola); Juliette Mullin (Recorder); Frank Carson (Recorder); Victoria Gunning (Voice); Louise Dorrington; Helen Kendrick; Lara Rosenthal (Recorder); Paul Lovegrove (Percussion); Susan Alleyne (Violin); Myriam Taoudi (Recorder); Elizabeth Yarde-Martin (Recorder); Ann Clausen (Percussion); Jennifer Bate (Organ); Daniel Sutcliffe (Violin); Fanfare Trumpeters of the Welsh Guard (Bugle); Sarah Mortimer (Voice); Joanne Ankier (Cello); Jennifer Watts (Violin); Livia Harris (Recorder); Kate Robson (Recorder); Francoise Roberts; Helen Sheldon (Violin); Richard Wise (Piano); Mìra Higgins; Pamela Mason (Violin); Selena Mirams (Violin); Hao-Ming-Yau (Violin); Kevin Tomkins (Violin); Katherine Davidson (Violin); Georgina Revell (Recorder); Holly Clarke (Recorder); Cynthia Fleming (Violin); Emma Kraemer (Violin); Rosie Kennally (Violin); Louisa Anderson (Recorder); Adam Dennis (Percussion); Jenny Slattery (Recorder); Roisin Healy (Recorder); Lawrence Durkin (Cello); Amy Lane (Percussion); George Harrison (Recorder); Nigel Blomiley (Cello); Rhiannon White (Viola); Sophie Harris (Recorder); Tristan Fry (Timpani); Claus en (Percussion); Richard Watson (Double Bass); Judy Barnett (Violin); Tristan Fry (Percussion); Michael Dore (Double Bass); Jonathan Smith (Violin); Martin Hooley (Viola)
  • Conductor: Nicholas Wilks
  • Ensemble: Finchley Children's Music Group
  • Running Time: 20 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1942