1 800 222 6872

Ben Allison & Medicine Wheel: Medicine Wheel

Track List

>Apostles of the Ugly
>Spy (Detail)
>Quirky Dungeon
>Tiny C

Album Notes

Personnel: Ben Allison (bass); Ted Nash (saxophone, flute); Michael Blake (saxophone); Ron Horton (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tomas Ulrich (cello); Frank Kimbrough (piano, prepared piano); Jeff Ballard (drums).

Producers: Ben Allison, The Jazz Composers Collective.

Recorded at Sorcerer Sound, New York, New York, on June 4, 5 & 18, 1997. Includes liner notes by Ben Allison.

Personnel: Tomas Ulrich (cello); Michael Blake (flute, saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ted Nash (flute, saxophone); Ron Horton (trumpet, flugelhorn); Roy Horton (trumpet); Frank Kimbrough (piano, prepared piano, toy piano); Jeff Ballard (drums, percussion).

Recording information: Sorcerer SOund, New York, NY (06/04/1997-06/18/1997).

Bassist Ben Allison here leads a septet playing eight of his compositions.

The instrumentation of this band alone tells part of the story: piano,

drums, bass, trumpet, two reed players and cello. Allison, along with the

ensemble's pianist Frank Kimbrough, also leads the Herbie Nichols Project,

and the links to Nichols's inventive writing can be heard here. The pieces

are each highly individual and rich with character. There a sense of place

and the small dramatic bearing of cabaret and theater throughout the

writing, arrangements and the playing. "Quirky Dungeon" gets a bass and

drum riff rolling over which uniquely matched instruments playing a rolling

melody. This line-up became solid and intriguing enough that Allison's

subsequent album, THIRD EYE, additionally bore the band name of "& Medicine



There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product