1 800 222 6872

Domenico Scarlatti: Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 11 - K. 358-K. 387 / Christoph Ullrich, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Part 1 received high praise and an excellent reception. Mirko Weber wrote the following in "Die Zeit": "Unlike Horowitz, who brought out the inner eccentricity of the pieces, or Christian Zacharias, who liberated them from the smell of mere glamour, Ullrich waits for the moment in which the music begins to float." One listener even asked the apprehensive question whether Christoph Ullrich could maintain this high level over the course of so many discs. This is a suspenseful questions! In any case, we are working diligently on the next parts, but always in manageable, varied portions. The second double-pack forms a large movement to Part 11 (out of 17) of the recently begun Scarlatti Complete Edition. With Scarlatti, it is a bit like the string quartets of Haydn: the later works might be more mature, but they are all good, right from the beginning.


Thoughtful performance
Only own this Volume (11) of the Scarlatti Sonatas by Ulrich.
Lots of interesting and exciting music come in these later sonatas.
Overall it's a good balanced performance, particularly if you want to hear on the piano sonatas hard to find elsewhere.
Submitted on 09/06/14 by Scarlatti is the best 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased