1 800 222 6872

Schoenberg: Pierrot Lunaire, etc / Boulez, Schäfer, et al

Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pierrot Lunaire, Op. 21
>Schoenberg, Arnold : Herzgewachse, song for soprano, celesta, harp & harmonium, Op. 20
>Schoenberg, Arnold : Ode to Napoleon, Op. 41
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"...The three performances are in fact all very well played, but they seem to have become progressively more free and expansive, with a finer sense of detail. All in all, I can't think of a 'Pierrot' to surpass, or even match, this new one. Which makes this a disc for anyone with the slightest interest in this music to buy and savor." -Youngren, Fanfare

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Pierre Boulez's third recording of Pierrot lunaire is an intense yet intimate reading, in a recording that's positively anti-resonant, and which veers, like the music itself, between harshness and reticence. Boulez's second recording (for Sony Classical), with Yvonne Minton, has long been notorious as the 'sung' Pierrot, flouting the composer's specific instructions about recitation.

This time Christine Schäfer is more speech- orientated, the few fully sung notes perfectly pitched, and although slidings-away from sustained sounds are on the whole avoided, the effect is superbly dramatic in the work's more expressionistic movements. The work's strange world, half-way between cabaret and concert hall, is admirably caught.

In the Ode to Napoleon David Pittman-Jennings has a heavy voice, but he skilfully inflects the sketchily notated dynamics of the vocal part, and the instrumental backing is forceful and well nuanced. The sound may be clinically dry, but this is scarcely a serious drawback when the performance has such expressive immediacy.The disc is completed by the brief, exotic Maeterlinck setting from 1911, whose hugely demanding vocal line deters all but the hardiest. Christine Schäfer copes, while the accompaniment for celesta, harmonium and harp weaves its usual spell. A thoroughly memorable disc.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Pierrot Lunaire, Op. 21
  • Performers: Florent Boffard (Piano); Sophie Cherrier (Flute); Sophie Cherrier (Piccolo); Jeannne Conquer (Viola); Jeannne Conquer (Violin); Alain Damiens (Clarinet); Jean-Guihen Queyras (Cello); Christine Schäfer (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Pierre Boulez
  • Ensemble: Ensemble InterContemporain
  • Running Time: 29 min. 17 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1912

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Herzgewächse, song for soprano, celesta, harp & harmonium, Op. 20
  • Performers: Frederique Cambreling (Harp); Hideki Nagano (Piano); Christine Schäfer (Soprano); Dimitri Vassilakis (Harmonium)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 12/1911

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Ode to Napoleon, Op. 41
  • Performers: Florent Boffard (Piano); Jeannne Conquer (Violin); Christophe Desjardins (Viola); Hae Kang (Violin); David Pittman-Jennings (Bass); Jean-Guihen Queyras (Cello)
  • Running Time: 16 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1942