Samuel Torres Group: Forced Displacement

Track List

>Canta'oras [The Female Singers], Las
>Velada De Tambores [Drums Soiree]
>Narrador De Espejismos [Narrator Of Mirages] - (remix, mono)
>Niño Pensante [The Thinking Child]
>Silencio Desplazador [Displacing Silence], El
>Lluvia, Luna Y Voz [Rain, Moon And Voice]
>Emilsen, El Hijo De San Juan [Emilsen, The Son Of San Juan]
>Orgullo Del Tambor [Drum's Pride], El

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

An ambitious 10-movement Latin jazz suite composed by percussionist and bandleader Samuel Torres, dedicated to the victims of political violence in Colombia. On his ZOHO debut, Samuel Torres presents a septet of top New Yorkbased sidemen including Grammy® nominee Yosvany Terry with Luis Perdomo, Michael Rodriguez, and Marshall Gilkes. Torres has performed and recorded as a percussionist with many internationally recognized stars including Tito Puente, Paquito D'Rivera, Chick Corea, Michael Brecker, Marc Anthony, and more. Promotion by Jim Eigo, Jazz Promo Services.

Album Notes

Personnel: Yosvany Terry (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Michael Rodriguez (trumpet, flugelhorn); Marshall Gilkes (trombone); Luis Perdomo (piano); Ricky Rodriguez (acoustic bass); Obed Calvaire (drums); Samuel Torres (congas); Jonathan Gómez (percussion).

Audio Mixer: Todd Whitelock.

Liner Note Author: Bill Milkowski.

Recording information: Sear Sound, New York City (02/04/2014).

Photographers: Lara Bello; Noelia Santos.

Arranger: Samuel Torres.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review