1 800 222 6872

Holst: Savitri / Hickox, Kwella, Palmer, Langridge, et al

Album Summary

>Holst, Gustav : Sávitri, chamber opera, Op. 25, H. 96
>Holst, Gustav : Songs (12) for voice & piano, Op. 48, H. 174
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Holst's chamber opera "Savitri" is based upon a story taken from a Sanskrit source. A woodcutter's wife cleverly outwits Death, who has come to take her husband. Holst's setting is wonderfully atmospheric. The Dream-City is an orchestral song-cycle arranged by Colin Matthews from Holst's settings of Humbert Wolfe poems.

'This CD contains one of the masterpieces of British music of the last century ... Savitri deserves a place of honour on the shelf marked "British" (International Record Review)

'If you have not come across Holst's Savitri, then I envy you the prospect of hearing this small miracle of a one-act opera for the first time. Fine performances make this a budget-price bargain' (Classic FM Magazine)

'An attractive disc' (BBC Music Magazine)

'A fine issue' (Hi-Fi News)

'Full, immediate recording' (The Daily Telegraph)

'Most vivid and sensitive performance' (Gramophone)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Holst, Gustav : Sávitri, chamber opera, Op. 25, H. 96
  • Performers: Philip Langridge; Felicity Palmer (Soprano); Stephen Varcoe
  • Notes: 06/09/1983/06/10/1983
  • Running Time: 7 min. 41 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1908-1909

>Holst, Gustav : Songs (12) for voice & piano, Op. 48, H. 174
  • Performer: Patrizia Kwella (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble: City of London Sinfonia
  • Notes: 06/09/1983/06/10/1983
  • Running Time: 25 min. 6 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1929