1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky; Khachaturian / Reiner, Elias

Album Summary

>Prokofiev, Sergei : Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78
>Khachaturian, Aram : Concerto for Violin in D minor
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

"Finally we get the Khachaturian on CD--a wonderful recording, never surpassed. Finally we get the Reiner 'Nevsky' in outstanding sound...The conducting is thrilling, and the chorus can be understood! They sing in English...Reiner not only builds climaxes but also holds tension remarkably well, so you are on the edge of your seat sometimes...This one you have to have: the Reiner 'Nevsky' finally sounding great and the absolutely perfect Khachaturian..." -Vroon, ARG


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Prokofiev, Sergei : Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78
  • Performer: Rosalind Elias
  • Conductor: Fritz Reiner
  • Ensemble: Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 40 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1938

>Khachaturian, Aram : Concerto for Violin in D minor
  • Performer: Leonid Kogan (Violin)
  • Conductor: Pierre Monteux
  • Ensemble: Boston Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Symphony Hall, Boston, MA (01/12/1958-01/13/1958)
  • Running Time: 34 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1940