1 800 222 6872

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini / Ozawa, Bonisolli, et al

Album Summary

>Berlioz, Hector : Benvenuto Cellini, opera Op. 23
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The most common thing people say after they hear this great opera for the first time is: "Why isn't it done more often?" Two simple reasons: Berlioz never quite finished it, despite years of tinkering, and it's very difficult to perform and produce. On CD, however, it's an overwhelming experience - especially in a superb reading like this. Live performance, May 8, 1973.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Berlioz, Hector : Benvenuto Cellini, opera Op. 23
  • Performers: Pierre Thau (Bass); Teresa Zylis-Gara (Soprano); Gino Sinimberghi (Tenor); Elisabeth Steiner (Mezzo Soprano); James Loomis (Bass); Tommaso Frascati (Tenor); Wolfgang Brendel (Baritone); Robert Hage (Voice); Franco Bonisolli (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Seiji Ozawa
  • Ensemble: Italian Radio Chorus Rome
  • Notes: Composition written: 05/1834-09/1838.
  • Running Time: 10 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 05/1834-09/1838