1 800 222 6872

Vasks: Symphony no 2, Violin Concerto / Storgards, et al

You may experience problems playing the sound clips on this page. We are aware of this problem and are working on it.
> Symphony No. 2 - Symphony No. 2
> Violin Concerto, "Tala gaisma" (Distant Light) - Violin Concerto, "Tala gaisma" (Distant Light)

Album Summary

>Vasks, Peteris : Symphony no 2
>Vasks, Peteris : Tala gaisma (Distant Light), concerto for violin & string orchestra
Performer Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Vasks Symphony No. 2 is a dramatic and powerful work. The first notes evoke the character of the 'Dies Irae' from Verdi's Requiem while other sections are serene, quiet and ethereal. The piece derives its drama from the struggle between the loud and tense sections and the softer more delicate sections... The composer considers this to be one of his most personal, intimate works.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Vasks, Peteris : Symphony no 2
  • Conductor: John Storgårds
  • Running Time: 39 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1998-1999

>Vasks, Peteris : Tala gaisma (Distant Light), concerto for violin & string orchestra
  • Performer: John Storgårds (Violin)
  • Conductor: Juha Kangas
  • Ensemble: Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
  • Running Time: 33 min. 43 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1996