1 800 222 6872

Saint-Saëns: Symphony no 3; Moussorgsky / De Waart, et al

Album Summary

>Saint-Saëns, Camille : Symphony no 3 in C minor, Op. 78 "Organ"
>Mussorgsky, Modest : Pictures at an exhibition
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"These SACD multichannel remasterings sound amazingly fine and true to life, so much so that the standard stereo issues don't even begin to compare... The real treat here, though, is the excellent Pictures at an Exhibition, which is beautifully played and quite spectacularly recorded. Waart opts for generally swift tempos, not least in "The Great Gate of Kiev" where the closing pages bring a truly physical thrill as he presses forward in the final statement of the resplendent principal theme. Every detail of Ravel's marvelous orchestration registers with unobtrusive clarity, along with richly resonant bass and excellent orchestral positioning... On both musical and sonic grounds, this is one of the finest productions that Pentatone has released thus far." -Classics Today (9/9)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 - 1921) : Symphony no 3 in C minor, Op. 78 "Organ"
  • Performer: Daniel Chorzempa (Organ)
  • Conductor: Edo De Waart
  • Running Time: 34 min. 47 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1886

>Mussorgsky, Modest : Pictures at an exhibition
  • Conductor: Edo De Waart
  • Running Time: 30 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1874-1922